Diversity of extracellular vesicles and their cargo in cell-to-cell communication

Jan Olof Lötvall, MD, PhD

Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, University of Gothenburg
Every cell in the body can release several types of extracellular vesicles (EVs), often called ”exosomes” or ”microvesicles”. These vesicles carry a wide array of molecules, including ...

Newly Updated IMWG Criteria for the Diagnosis of Multiple Myeloma; the Importance of Biomarkers in Early Stage Disease

Ola Landgren

Chief of Myeloma Service, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
DATE: Tuesday, March 10, 2015 TIME: 09:00 PST, 11:00 CST, 12:00 EST, 16:00 GMT The International Myeloma Working Group (IMWG) has issued updated criteria for the diagnosis of multiple ...

Neuroscience

Mar 18-19, 2015 Add to Calendar Select one of the following: iCal Google Calendar Outlook Calendar Yahoo Calendar
BioConference Live makes it easier and more cost-effective for the neuroscience research community to come together online through live video webcasts and real-time networking. BioConference Live attendees learn new concepts, tools and techniques that they can apply to research and diagnosis. BioConference Live requires no travel or time away from ...
66
109
64129
 

Diabetic Cardiomyopathy Modeling & Screening with iPSC Cardiomyocytes

Roberto Iacone, PhD // Brad Swanson, PhD

Pharma and Research Development (pRED), Hoffmann-La Roche, Inc // Senior Director of Cell Biology Research and ...
Date: Tuesday, April 7th, 2015 Time: 08:30AM PST, 11:30AM EST, 5:30PM CET The development of new medicines for Diabetes Type 2 complications has proven to be challenging due to the use of ...

Advances in Sedimentation Analysis

Borries Demeler, PhD

Director, Bioinformatics Core Facility, University of Texas Health Science Center
In recent years, sophisticated new methods for sedimentation data analysis have opened up new avenues for leveraging AUC technology in a wide range of technology sectors, including life science ...

Genetics and Genomics

May 13-14, 2015 Add to Calendar Select one of the following: iCal Google Calendar Outlook Calendar Yahoo Calendar
The theme of this conference is a range of genetics and genomics topics such as RNAi, Next-generation sequencing, Cancer research, Sequencing, Genome-wide association studies GWAS, Epigenetics, Mapping, Exomes, Genomic medicine, Human Genome Structural Variation, Pharmacogenetics, DNA/RNA Purification, Mutations, Translational Genomics ...
18
12
4333
 

Microbiology

Sep 2-3, 2015 Add to Calendar Select one of the following: iCal Google Calendar Outlook Calendar Yahoo Calendar
2015 Annual Microbiology BioConference LiveMicrobiology is the study of microscopic organisms including bacteria, viruses, rickettsia, mycoplasma, fungi, algae and protozoa, some of which can cause diseases while others contribute to the beneficial balance of nature. Although much is now known in the field of microbiology, advances are constantly ...
27
7
3314
 

Cancer Research and Oncology

Sep 30 - Oct 1, 2015 Add to Calendar Select one of the following: iCal Google Calendar Outlook Calendar Yahoo Calendar
BioConference Live makes it easier and more cost-effective for the cancer research community to come together online through live video webcasts and real-time networking. BioConference Live attendees learn new concepts, tools and techniques that they can apply to research and diagnosis. BioConference Live requires no travel or time away from the ...
17
17
2518
 

Clinical Diagnostics and Research

Nov 11-12, 2015 Add to Calendar Select one of the following: iCal Google Calendar Outlook Calendar Yahoo Calendar
This year will be our 6th annual Clinical Diagnostics & Research online conference. Attendees can earn free CME and CE Credits. The theme of this conference is a range of medical and clinical and research topics such as Personalized Healthcare, Pathology, Oncology, Infectious Disease, Laboratory Testing, Cardiology, Diabetes, Point of Care ...
12
8
2505
 

Evaluating Nonderivatization & Derivatization Tandem MS Methods for Multianalyte Analysis in Dried Blood Spots

Joseph Di Bussolo, PhD

Senior Applications Scientist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
Date:  Wednesday, February 25, 2015Time(s):  08:00 PST, 11:00 EST, 16:00 UK, 17:00 CET Flow injection tandem mass spectrometry (FIA-MS/MS) has been frequently used to analyze amino acids (AA) ...

CRISPR-Cas9 Gene Editing with Synthetic RNA – from start to finish!

Emily Anderson, Ph.D.

Senior Scientist, Biology Research and Development, Dharmacon
DATE: Thursday, February 19, 2015 TIME: 08:00 PST, 11:00 EST, 16:00 GMT The CRISPR-Cas9 system is being widely used for genome engineering in many different biological applications. It ...

Primary HPV Cervical Cancer Screening: Supporting data and guidance updates

Julia Engstrom-Melnyk, PhD

Scientific Affairs Manager, Medical and Scientific Affairs, Roche Diagnostics
Date: Tuesday, February 10th, 2015 Time: 9:00AM PST, 12:00PM EST For the last 60 years the primary method of preventing cervical cancer in both the U.S. and Europe has been cervical cytology -- ...

Primary HPV Cervical Cancer Screening: Supporting data and guidance updates

Julia Engstrom-Melnyk, PhD

Scientific Affairs Manager, Medical and Scientific Affairs, Roche Diagnostics
Date: Tuesday, February 10th, 2015 Time: 12:00PM PST, 3:00PM EST For the last 60 years the primary method of preventing cervical cancer in both the U.S. and Europe has been cervical cytology -- ...

Training and Competency in Contemporary Animal Research Programs

John Bradfield, PhD, DVM

Senior Director, AAALAC International, USA
The management of animal research programs has evolved into a complex and multifaceted endeavor. Scientific discovery moves at a fast pace and our knowledge of animal science is continually expanding, demanding that those engaged in animal care and resource management as well as research, have the appropriate skills to ensure scientific integrity and animal welfare. This presentation will ...
6
7
181
 
Feb 5 2015 | 1:30 PM PT

Laboratory Animal Sciences

Feb 4-5, 2015
LabRoots, Inc. is pleased to announce the annual, two-day international, virtual Laboratory Animal Science (LAS) BioConference Live that will take place on February 4th and 5th, 2015. This is the premier online-only conference focused on laboratory animal science. The theme of this conference is Laboratory Animal Science in the 21st century; animal ...
68
156
111007
 

Experiments support conductivity claims for microbial nanowires

Scientific debate has been hot lately about whether microbial nanowires, the specialized electrical pili of the mud-dwelling ...
3
67
 

Where Does Volcano Lightning Come From?

Earlier this morning the Villarrica volcano erupted in Chile, forcing thousands of residents and tourists to flee from the city of Pucón. Images of the eruption ...
4
108
 

Shedding Light on the Phases of the Moon

The first celestial object that attracts the attention of many people at a young age is the ever-changing moon. The lunar surface appears to go through phases over ...
4
93
 

Human Antibodies Can Fight Lethal Marburg Virus

Researchers at Vanderbilt University, the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, and The Scripps Research Institute ...
4
129
 

Keeping the Bacteria out of the Beer

Throughout the world, beer is a welcome refreshment. In order to satisfy an increasingly discriminating customer brewers are very specific about which grains to use ...
4
73
 

Huge Virus Exposed in 3-D with X-ray Laser

For the first time, researchers have produced a 3-D image revealing part of the inner structure of an intact, infectious virus, using a unique X-ray laser at the ...
4
149
 

Could NYC rats be a harbor for the plague?

Rats in New York City carry a species of flea that is capable of transmitting plague pathogens. For a new study, researchers collected more than 6,500 specimens ...
5
110
 

Pancreatic Cancer Subtypes Could Guide Future Treatments

Scientists from Australia and the UK have completed the most comprehensive analysis yet of pancreatic cancer, in a study that ...
6
233
 

New Target Identified in Fight Against Alzheimer's, Multiple ...

Highlighting a potential target in the treatment of multiple sclerosis (MS) and Alzheimer's disease, new research suggests that ...
6
299
 

Over 900 hookworm genes ‘turn on’ to wreak havoc

Tiny parasitic hookworms infect nearly half a billion people worldwide, almost exclusively in developing countries. Researchers ...
6
153
 

Filaments in Heart Muscle Cells Don't Automatically Keep the Beat

Two hearts, said Keats, can beat as one; but a study led by Weizmann Institute scientists in collaboration with researchers ...
5
422
 

Untangling DNA with Drop of Water, Pipet, and Polymer

Researchers have long sought an efficient way to untangle DNA in order to study its structure – neatly unraveled and ...
6
477
 

Today is World Wildlife Day

Wildlife is now firmly fixed on the United Nations calendar thanks to its own special day. On the 3rd of March 2014 the United Nations Secretary-General Ban ...
7
115
 

Male tegu lizards mating with a dead female

When zoologist Ivan Sazima went for a walk in the park in southeastern Brazil on a warm September day in 2013, he was hoping to find noteworthy animal behavior to ...
7
2737
 

New Free Mobile App Takes Viewer Inside Congenital Heart Defects

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center is offering Heartpedia, a free, interactive, 3-D app for iPhones, iPads, and ...
7
259
 

How DNA Copies Itself

Mar 3, 2015
Posted By: Greg Cruikshank
3
597
 

Cool Space Facts

Mar 3, 2015
Posted By: Brenda Kelley Kim
6
478
 
Posted By: Brenda Kelley Kim
6
8
317
 
Posted By: Robert Woodard
8
14
705
 

RNA Splicing

Feb 27, 2015
Posted By: Greg Cruikshank
8
12
713
 

Sand Dunes on a Comet?

Feb 25, 2015
Posted By: Brenda Kelley Kim
7
6
230
 
Posted By: Greg Cruikshank
6
8
271
 

From DNA to Protein

Feb 24, 2015
Posted By: Greg Cruikshank
6
12
1000
 
Posted By: Ilene Schneider
6
9
283
 
Posted By: Greg Cruikshank
8
16
359
 
Posted By: Greg Cruikshank
7
11
1273